Black vs Color (Knitting Blog Week)


knitting blog week 2012 day 1

knitting and crochet blog week 2012

Funny how knitting changed my choice of colors. As a good old goth, i
used to dress in black and sometimes a little purple and aubergine.
Etrange comme le
tricot a changé mes goûts en matière de couleurs.


En bonne vieille
goth de base, je portais du noir, un peu de violet et de prune.

I would knit black, but would soon drop.
Je tricotais
parfois du fil noir, et j’abandonnais rapidement.

Knitting black feels boring and painful when you discover how easier it
is to knit colors. You know, when you can actually see where your knit
and when you messed up.
C’est quand on se
met à tricoter en couleur qu’on découvre à quel point
tricoter du noir est lourd et pesant. On peut enfin voir où on plante
son aiguille et où on s’est trompé.

So I decided to go knit beige merinos wool instead of black acrylic,
and was happilly knitting ever after.
I started wearing teal and grey and beige, without feeling un-gothed.
Alors j’ai décidé
de tricoter du mérinos beige et non plus de
l’acrylique noire, et je fus heureuse et tricotai beaucoup
d’enfants
beaucoup tout court.


Je me suis mise à
porter du turquoise et du gris et du beige, sans me sentir moins
gothique pour autant.

Right now, I’m knitting white (a color I used to be scared of), a
lovely fluffy spanish baby yarn called Nuvole
and I’m loving it.

En ce moment, je
tricote du blanc (une couleur qui m’a toujours
fait peur), un adorable fil espagnol à peluche pour bébé appelé Nuvole,
et j’en raffole.

I went from knitting this
 litaines goth  
to this rainbow pocket knit
🙂

15 commentaires

  1. Normally I’m completely against black, but I really like how you used it in these mitts. And of course I love purples and blues (my favorite colors!) so the bag is one of my favorites.

    J'aime

  2. Knitting (and crocheting) with black makes my eyes go funny staring at it for so long but I do like a good black project once in awhile! Your two projects you shared are so cute, I love them!

    J'aime

Qu'en dites-vous ?

